On the First Day of Christmas…


Your Geevie brings to you…

A Christmas song (to get you in the spirit of our new theme):

A Christmas movie:

A Christmas gift from my childhood, and any corresponding memory:

My memory for this game was probably the fondest of my earlier childhood, when I was eight years old. This was back before my dad passed away, and there was a lot of family turmoil that made for a tense household. My sister was living with my parents and I, along with her toddler. My sister and I did not get along back in those days, for reasons I would not learn till much, much later.

But it was a warzone pretty much all of the time, with my mother and my sister on one side and my daddy and I on the other.

This particular night, once I got this game, I got to cross those battle lines. We sat around the table playing this game having the time of our lives. We laughed, we talked – we actually bonded as a family.

I have to say this is probably my favorite childhood gift – apart from any of the ones that I ever asked for – just for that reason.

It’s a good reminder to know that when they’re grown, they won’t really remember that hot new trendy toy or game they’re probably bugging you consistently for. What they’ll truly remember is the time that you spent and the way that they felt.

Which reminds me… I need to seriously schedule a game night for my own kids.

Christmas Recipe:

Southern Cornbread Dressing with a Cranberry Twist

This year I’m really into fresh fruit additions to the traditional recipes, to add nutritional value as well as a kick of sweetness since I’ve ditched more conventional recipes with sugar. One of the recipes that got a makeover was my cornbread dressing, by adding the “superfruit” of cranberries.

I don’t measure, so … this is the way we handle cookin’ in the south. Measure till it looks and smells right. 😉 Feel free to add to or take away from to put your own signature on this classic staple.

2 small boxes cornbread of your preference (I use Jiffy)
1 stalk of celery
1 small yellow onion
2 boiled eggs (could probably replace nuts for eggs for a healthier more vegan alternative)
1/2 to 1 cup of cranberries & your choice of sweetener (I use Agave)
Poultry seasoning (or at the very least, sage)
Chicken stock, or for my vegan friends, vegetable stock.

This is a great recipe to prepare in advance because the longer it sets, the better it gets.

Prepare your cornbread according to the package. While it bakes, boil your cranberries in some water with about a quarter of your original measure of cranberries for your sweeter. You want just enough to get rid of the bitter bite, but not too much to make it too sweet.

Once your cornbread is done and cooled, crumble it into a bowl. Cut up your celery and onion, add to the cornbread. Add eggs (or nuts), and the seasoning. Let your nose be your guide. I like my stuffing pretty spicy, so I add accordingly. Add cooled, drained cranberries and put the mixture dry into the fridge to sit overnight.

If you use this dressing for stuffing, add it dry to the cavity of your turkey just before you bake.

If you bake your dressing, add just enough stock to where it’s completely moistened but not soaked. (If you like your dressing more crumbly, add less, if you like it more mushy – add more)

Bake about a half hour at 350 or until it begins to brown on top.

And finally, a new segment, How to bring Christmas “Joy to the World”. We may debate the reason for the holiday season, but I think we all – no matter what religion or lack thereof – can embrace the true heart of the holiday by spreading joy and peace to another human being. I don’t believe Jesus came so we could always rely on him to answer prayers. I believe we are all empowered to answer the prayers of others. That, I think, is the true meaning of Christmas, and a way we can all ensure peace on earth and good will towards man.

It’s not a spectator sport, folks. Christmas can be, and should be, completely interactive.

I humbly invite you to check out Charity:Water. We’ve been talking a lot these last many months about the importance of health and health care, and one of the reasons so many people in this world are dying (needlessly) from disease is the lack of access to clean drinking water. And sadly, it affects the most innocent. Of the more than 40,000 people who die weekly from unsafe water or lack of sanitation, 90% are children under the age of five years old.

Charity: Water is an organization that seeks to right this very preventable wrong. When you donate your money to this organization, not only does 100% of your donation go right to direct project costs, but just a small donation of $20 can provide someone in Africa safe drinking water for 20 years.

20 years.

If you’re in a position where you can’t donate funds, check out my sidebar to find out how you can do simple activities to help raise gallons of water through my sponsor, Bing.com.

2 thoughts on “On the First Day of Christmas…

  1. Thanks for sharing your Christmas memories. These are moments that really get me in the Christmas spirit. So funny that a game called “Mr. Mouth” is what brought your family together.

  2. Isn’t it though? LOL But it did… I may have to eBay this game and see if I can purchase another one. I think I bought my boys this game when they were small too… like I said I’m a big one for tradition! Haha

    Thanks so much for the comment 🙂

Leave a Reply

