On the fifth day of Christmas…


Your Geevie brings to you… an 80s style Christmas!

A Christmas Song:

A Christmas Movie:

A Christmas memory:

In the 80s, I wanted an Atari about as much as I wanted MTV.

I got neither.

But in much the same way classic story heroines learn the lesson they need to learn without achieving their goals, I found that I could survive the early 80s without my very own personal gaming system… even if some of my friendships suffered.

In two back to back years, two of my best friends at the time got the much coveted system. For the next month or two or five, whenever I’d call these friends, I’d take a serious backseat to the kid crack that was Atari.

I think that pissed me off more than not getting the game system.

But I survived it, and grew up to right this grievous wrong by making sure my kids got their game systems and the games they wanted. Those Christmas mornings were just as exciting to me as if I’d gotten every Atari in the world back when I was a kid.

And now… I get to play too.

It’s all good.

Christmas Recipe:

If you have a hard time getting vegetables down the gullet of your crew, try this popular broccoli salad that adds things like bacon and cheese (which decidedly lessens it’s healthy reputation) and makes those oogie veggies a little more palatable.

To fudge some of these unhealthier ingredients, you could try a veggie cheese substitute and bacon bits rather than actual bacon, as well as low fat or fat free mayo.

Broccoli-Bacon Salad

2 large bunches raw broccoli, cut into flowerets
1 lb. bacon, cooked and crumbled (or substitute)
2 c. grated Cheddar cheese (or substitute)
1/2 sweet onion, finely chopped
1/2 c. sugar (or substitute)
2 tbsp. wine vinegar
1 c. mayonnaise (fat free/lowfat)

Mix mayonnaise, sugar and vinegar together. Add onion, bacon and cheese. Pour over broccoli in 9 x 13 pan. Stir until broccoli is lightly coated. Chill a few hours.

Leave a Reply

