On the fourth day of Christmas…


Your Geevie brings to you…

A Christmas song:

A Christmas movie:

A Christmas memory:

I grew up in the age of vinyl LP albums, and my mother owned a Christmas album that I would play religiously each year. On the cover it had a warm hearth, a Christmas tree and the feeling of home. It made me feel good just to look at it. On the album itself it had everything from “It’s Beginning to Look a Lot Like Christmas” to “The Little Drummer Boy” – which always made me cry, even as a little kid.

I would drag out that album and start playing it probably a month before Christmas. It only got played once a year, but I’d make that once a year count. (which I still do with my more modern CD which I burned myself.)

Needless to say this particular LP has been gone for years and years, but I think maybe the reason I’m singing Christmas songs long after others have grown weary of hearing it in endless malls and every radio station is that just hearing those time honored classics in some ways I’m still a kid. I’m still sitting on my living room floor, listening to that record play on the stereo. Life is frozen in that Christmas Eve moment, with presents yet to open, mysteries still to uncover.

There’s still the promise of Christmas.

A Christmas Recipe:

In the South it’s not Christmas dessert without one of three types of pie: Pumpkin, Pecan and Mince Meat. While Mince Meat is a bit of a difficult sell (although I like it, especially with whip cream), at my house has been common to find at least two of these at any given holiday… particularly pecan and pumpkin.

Though store bought is fine, I’ve always rather preferred to bake mine from scratch. When I was first married years and years ago, back when the kids were small, it was my tradition to go full out and make sure they were scratch, especially the pumpkin.

For some reason I never could properly prepare a frozen pumpkin pie. It would always burn around the edges and it always cracked and was not a pretty dessert.

Homemade, however, were always bigger, prettier and never burned.

And it wasn’t that much harder.

Now that I’ve gone sugar free, some of these are more challenging than others (i.e. pecan pie, which might as well be called sugar pie with a tad of pecans), but thankfully pumpkin pie is still easy to prepare.

Agave Pumpkin Pie

1 can packed pumpkin
1 can evaporated milk
3/4 agave nectar
3 eggs, slightly beaten
2 tbsp flour
1 tsp vanilla
pumpkin pie spice
pastry shell(s)

Mix everything but the shells together until smooth. The original recipe called for just a tsp of cinnamon, but that’s sacrilege to someone like me. I add enough pumpkin pie spice (mixture of cinnamon/nutmeg/ginger/cloves) until it smells as spicy as I typically like it.

The original recipe also called for just one pie shell. I got a deep dish and it still overflowed. Go ahead and make two pies for this recipe, especially if you’re using regular sized shells.

Cool Whip has a sugar free topping you can add, or you can go without. Either way… it’s a pretty sinless way to enjoy a traditional holiday favorite.

Christmas Charity “Joy to the World”: It stands to reason that around Christmas, there are specific types of charities to help lessen the burden on struggling families who cannot provide for their young children the things they want or need for Christmas. In every city there are going to be huge ways to help; more than likely you’ll be able to find Christmas trees full of names of underprivileged kids so that you can purchase them a little something.

You can also check out Toys for Tots, the charity where the United States Marine Corps seeks to make the Christmas memories of less fortunate children a little brighter. While you’re out shopping for the rest of your Christmas list, be sure to include a toy for a child who – without the generosity of others – would not have a present to open this season. You can literally be Santa Claus.

What’s more Christmasy than that?

One thought on “On the fourth day of Christmas…

Leave a Reply

