On the Seventh Day of Christmas…


Your Geevie brings to you:

A Christmas song:

A Christmas movie:

A Christmas memory:

Another staple of my Christmasy youth: tinsel. I used to LOVE putting tinsel on the tree; mostly because I love sparkly things. They make me happy.

Steven calls me his magpie.

So the most cherished part of decorating the tree went in order of Sparkly Lights and even more Sparkly tinsel. You know the kind. The silver stuff that got everywhere and crinkled up and got tacky and never looked as good the following year – but out of the box felt like silver pieces of silk in your hand as you tossed it from bough to bough.

Once I got to be an adult and had small children, I ended up graduating from tinsel strands to garland – as sparkly as the tinsel but less mess. I no longer had to spend an hour on January 2nd untangling each strand from the tree before it went back into storage, and invariably end up running out of steam half way through and having random pieces of crinkly tinsel still on the tree year after year.

Nowadays I end up using just beaded garland instead of the sparkly stuff. It’s less temptation for my equally magpie-ish four legged children who live to decimate the tree either by breaking at least three ornaments a year or – in the case of this year – destroying the lights ala Christmas Vacation.

My prized chaser lights I purchased last year fell to the furry four legged sabotage.

Now I have no tinsel and no lights.

I’m quite a sad magpie indeed. Thank God I took a photo to remember what was. For about a week.

Christmas Recipe:

I just got to try this one last year but I can already tell you that this will become a tradition on both Christmas AND New Year, especially if you buy into the whole “black eyed peas/good luck” thing for the new year dinner.

Given I haven’t eaten black eyed peas on many a past New Years and the last few years have been less than lucky…. I’m willing to go on a little faith.

Besides. It’s delish.

Texas Caviar

* 1/2 onion, chopped
* 1 green bell pepper, chopped
* 1 bunch green onions, chopped
* 2 jalapeno peppers, chopped
* 1 tablespoon minced garlic
* 1 pint cherry tomatoes, quartered
* 1 (8 ounce) bottle zesty Italian dressing
* 1 (15 ounce) can black beans, drained
* 1 (15 ounce) can black-eyed peas, drained
* 1/2 teaspoon ground coriander
* 1 bunch chopped fresh cilantro

Directions

1. In a large bowl, mix together onion, green bell pepper, green onions, jalapeno peppers, garlic, cherry tomatoes, zesty Italian dressing, black beans, black-eyed peas and coriander. Cover and chill in the refrigerator approximately 2 hours. Toss with desired amount of fresh cilantro to serve.

(Gin Spin: I’ll be leaving the cilantro off my recipe – as I’m not a fan)

Christmas “Joy to the World”

In another nod to small ways to make a big difference, consider Nothing But Nets. This organization fights malaria, a disease that claims more than a million lives each year. Every thirty seconds a child dies in Africa because of this killer. By providing a mosquito net to those at risk at the spread of the disease, just $10 of your dollars can help save the life of a child who might not have that protection otherwise.

Consider it the ultimate stocking stuffer.

Leave a Reply

