Day One. So far… so good.


Through excruciating back spasms that left me prone much of the day, I finally managed to make it to the store to purchase much needed groceries for my Vegan experiment. It was a little pricey, but I got a lot of food. And it was good food… not junk.

First observation of the benefits of veganism was that it saves on your grocery time. There are aisles you don’t even GO down anymore. (And that’s a good thing!)

I didn’t get everything I had planned for the week, but upon reflection I don’t think I’ll need it. Since I’m the only one who has chosen to follow this eating lifestyle, when I make a big pot of food (like I did tonight), there will be plenty to last me for the next couple of days, easy.

While it does take time to prepare the meal instead of just grabbing something fast and easy, I love the creativity that it brings to the kitchen.

Tonight’s meal followed no recipe, it was just me throwing stuff together that sounded good.

I heated some oil and put some minced garlic in while I chopped a whole zucchini, five big mushrooms, about a fourth of an onion. I got that all browned and then added a can of artichoke hearts and a can of olives, and I put it on simmer to warm through.

Then I added a can of zesty spaghetti sauce and let that simmer while I cooked a box of whole wheat pasta shells.

This is the finished product:

And it tasted GREAT. The artichoke hearts really took it to the next level for me. I didn’t miss meat or cheese, what I would normally put in this dish, at all.

So all in all, it was a very successful day food wise.

Next order of business… get my back under control. And quickly.

2 thoughts on “Day One. So far… so good.

  1. Awesome! I’m so proud of you!:) I’ve thrown out my cheese. Reading that article you sent me really grossed me out, but I’m glad I read it.

Leave a Reply

