An unofficial weigh in… shhhhh


Steven has threatened to take the scale away if I get too obsessive with weigh ins and the results on the scale, but out of curiosity I did step on the scale today and noticed a four pound difference already – which is awesome. Makes it easier to stay the course on the meatless, dairy-less route I’ve taken… as well as adhere more to the calorie count I was given by Sparkpeople.com.

If you’re not using them, please consider it. It’s virtually effortless – all you have to do is put the foods you eat into their handy dandy little website and it calculates not only how many calories you’re eating but how much you’re getting of carbohydrates, fats and proteins. You can monitor everything – and that this site is still free to use boggles my mind.

They even provide meal plans for those who need that additional guidance.

If you’ve read my lamentations about the diet industry, you’ll see that’s a big pet peeve of mine where people profit off of the desperation of others by selling them stuff a.) that doesn’t work (results not typical) or b.) things they don’t need.

As easy as it is to eat a pre-packaged meal several times a day, that’s not going to help you much when you end up having to make your own food choices again after you have reached your goal. This feeds into the “diet as a temporary fix” mentality which, I promise, will keep you on the dieting merry-go-round the rest of your life.

And pills… pfft. The answer isn’t in a pill. You want to speed up your metabolism so you burn more fat? Develop more muscle. And eat smaller more frequent meals. Eat breakfast.

There’s a ton of stuff you can do that costs nothing more than your time to Google health sites and find out how the body is supposed to work, and the natural foods you can put into it that make it work better.

So Sparkpeople rules. S’all I’m sayin.

That being said I am finding it a little difficult to get all of the protein I need every day. This isn’t just a Vegan thing as I had that problem before when I actually ate dairy and meat. I’ve always been carbo-heavy on the diet, and I know that’s probably a lot of my problem.

The key is to make sure those carbohydrates are complex, so it won’t drastically affect my low blood sugar. The low GI diet worked very well for me because of that reason.

Another area where I need improvement is making sure I get enough water. Now the jury is actually out on what is proper hydration. There’s the standard eight glasses of water per day, but some folks say you don't need that much, and some say you need way more. And in the midst of that confusion, there’s the (albeit rare) danger of water intoxication.

So I dunno. I no longer drink caffeine so I don’t run the risk of that dehydrating me anymore, and whenever I drink anything it’s typically water (with the exception of maybe a serving or two of juice per day). But I’m certainly not getting the full 8 glasses per day, and going by the use your weight calculation, I’m really not getting the water they say I need per day.

If anyone has any advice on the matter, I’m all ears.

In the meantime I’ll just keep aspiring toward that 8 per day rule, and go from there.

For dinner I had a lovely salad inspired by McDonalds of all things. They sell a Southwest Chicken Salad that comes with chicken and cheese, but also lots of goodies like black beans and corn – a typical southwest mix.

So I blended a can of black beans (rinsed) with a can of Mexicorn (the kind with chilis), along with about a quarter cup of red onion and some Sun Dried Tomato vinaigrette. I served about a cup of this mixture over some dark mixed greens and cut up a little avocado and some tomatoes for the top, and served with natural blue corn chips which I ended up crumbling into the salad.

The creaminess of the avocado helped me get past the non-cheesiness of it quite nicely.

Now the soy milk experiment did not do so well from yesterday when I used it in just regular ol’ cold cereal, but I did find it works out very well in oatmeal. Because the milk is sweeter than normal milk, no additional sweeteners need to be added.

Here’s to flexibility!

Hope you all are having a fantastically successful day. 🙂

2 thoughts on “An unofficial weigh in… shhhhh

  1. Have you tried Almond Milk with your cereal? My husband uses it as a replacement and LOVES it. Me… Not a huge fan but I use it in recipes in place of milk. Just don’t like the soggy cereal thing.

Leave a Reply

