Just when you think you have it all figured out


Life throws some interesting curve balls.

Learned tonight that the call center I work for is set to lose their client if we don’t improve our scores over the next thirty days. So that means that I can work my ass off for the next month (which I do anyway) and still end up laid off in the next month.

Oddly, I’m not that freaked out about it. I mean, I don’t want to go through the job hunting thing again – but then again, maybe it’ll open another door for more money or better benefits that the last few months have shown me I definitely need.

Maybe this is just God’s way of rearranging the chessboard so that I actually have a fighting chance.

At least there’s a chance to make it better.

This was thrown into sharp focus when we lost one of our beloved four legged children today. Our almost nine year old cat Cricket passed away, apparently of natural causes. Steven found her under the bed.

Cricket was a recluse, we didn’t see her unless she came out to eat. And since Keneko came to live with us, she’s even taken to sleeping off to herself instead of on the bed with us.

Cricket, like Keneko, was Jeremiah’s fault. Either a friend pawned this kitten off on him or he found her on the street, but he asked me if he could have this cat that he found. I, of course, said no. I’m really strong when it comes to saying no (not), and when he told me that he had perched this kitten on his windowsill I told him to go get her and bring her inside.

He came in with the most mangy, beat up thing you ever saw. She was super tiny and both ears had what looked like bites taken of them. Her fur was all matted and she was the most pathetic sight. Well that’s all it took – I couldn’t say no to THAT.

We took her in that night and she never left us until today.

At first she was fairly fearless with the other critters. Back as a kitten she’d even nurse off of our bassett hound we had at the time. I have video of that somewhere on VHS.

But over time she became more and more reclusive until the boys never saw her at all. She became my baby, she loved me more than anyone else – although Steven made the short list of her tolerated people. She’d sleep in bed with us for years, and brought a lot of joy to our lives for what would have been nine years this summer.

So it’s a very sad night.

And so I guess I’ve got the perspective I need to face this job issue head on. It’s not great, but it’s certainly not as bad as it could be.

As far as the food goes, as I tweeted I got two kids to try my vegan pizza with olives and pineapple and they loved it. So I think next week I’ll have a pizza night and make vegan pizza for all of us. Cheese for Steven, Supreme for Jeremiah and then Olive and Pineapple for me and Tim.

I found a vegan meal they’ll eat. I’m pretty psyched.

Life is such an interesting mix – there really is a season for every purpose.

Goodbye, Cricket. Mama loves you. Always.

2 thoughts on “Just when you think you have it all figured out

  1. {{{Ginger}}} I’m so sorry to hear about the loss of your baby kitty. I always cry when sweet babies die.:( RIP, Cricket.

    Good luck with the job whether that means you stay at the current one or move on to something else. I’m so proud of you attitude towards these changes. You’ll do great.

  2. Thanks {{{Victoria}}} I know what you mean, it’s so sad to lose our little furry children 😦 I still can’t believe she’s gone.

    Thanks for the best wishes on the job. Missing more work because I threw my back out again doesn’t help. I hate that this impedes my independence. I want to work and I want to bring home full checks not these half assed ones I have been bringing home.

Leave a Reply

