Oops I did it again.


As many of my Twitter friends already know, I wrenched my back out again today while getting ready to go to work.

Which means I didn’t get to go to work. AGAIN. (Arrgh)

I was barely able to holler for Steven and make it the four feet from the bathroom to the bed. It literally seized up so badly I could hardly move. Steven felt my back and could even feel the muscles how they were so tense and rock hard. So he brought me some chili and crackers so I could take my pills. I only had enough strength to eat the crackers. Took the pills and then passed out until midnight…. at which I took more pills.

It’s still tense but no longer actively spasming. Which means it hurts, but I can at least breathe and move without assistance. It’s hunched over and painfully slow, but it’s unassisted movement nonetheless. The pain is probably around a 7, it was a flat out 10 earlier. I mean it literally went out completely, and sent horrible, sharp pain both down my left leg and up through my right arm. Right now my nerve is still quite pinched thanks to the stiff muscles, and Steven is going to give me an ice rubdown before he goes to sleep.

It can’t come soon enough. The pain down my leg is so sharp it takes my breath away.

Odds are, then, I’ll be heading back to the ER tomorrow. I think this qualifies under the “if your symptoms get worse…” category.

I did manage to eat the chili finally. My appetite has returned with a vengeance because my body recognizes I guess that it needs sustenance in order to heal.

Some people can live off of hydrocodone alone. I’m not one of those people.

But there’s no way I can cook so it may just be a peanut butter and fruit spread sandwich and some fruit at this point.

Ah to have the life where I could afford a cook, a maid and a masseur.

Little did Steven know when he married me he was signing on to be all three with no pay and no retirement.

Poor guy.

Gonna try to go to the kitchen to prepare my own sandwich. If I’m not back in fifteen minutes… send the dogs.

***Made it as far as the kitchen whereupon I was chastised by hubby who didn’t want me to move a muscle. So he made the aforementioned sandwich. He also gave me an ice rubdown which helped the nerve issue a bit, but the back is still at a 6/7. Makes me wonder if this is a pinched nerve, but there’s really no way to know that without an MRI. And who can afford that?

Interesting twitterscope today. For things with vague advice to fit a majority of people playing the odds, they can often give a lil much needed insight – especially for someone who is going through extreme emotional discontent about being more helpless and vulnerable than I ever wanted to be.

“You would prefer to set an even pace to your routine that will enable you to accomplish the things you must do in the days and weeks ahead, but it’s not that simple. Intellectually, you know that you cannot make anyone else move any faster than they are going, even if it would make your life simpler. Instead of worrying about something that’s beyond your control, do what you can in the immediate moment to continue your own progress. Your persistence will be rewarded.

Good to know.***

2 thoughts on “Oops I did it again.

  1. I’m so sorry for this. I know I sound like a broken record, but that’s how I feel. I wish I could do something. Very gentle hugs.

  2. Thanks. 🙂 Believe me I wish I didn’t sound like a big baby whiner day after day. I want to report good things not this back problem day after day. But I’m going to remain hopeful. I’m changing the way I fuel my body, and soon I’ll be able to condition it properly so that these problems can be a thing of the past.

Leave a Reply

