Final weigh in for January


So the grand tally for January (and over two full weeks of the Vegan lifestyle) adds up to a loss of 13 pounds. I’m so excited I can barely stand it! Remember what I said about giving it a month to start with, and if the results were good I’d keep it up?

Cheeses? We don’t need no stinking cheeses!!

It’s amazing what happens when you’re eating the way you’re supposed to be eating. I was able to break through some barriers I haven’t been able to break through in a really long time.

Plus that’s thirteen pounds of food for my local food bank thanks to the Pound for Pound Challenge.

All of which is pretty darned Epic if you ask me. 😉

Of course, I realize the drastic loss this week of five pounds pretty much can be attributed to the fact that I wasn’t eating a whole lot thanks to being unconscious most of the time. There’s going to be a slowdown eventually, and I’ll deal with it when it comes.

But today is as good a day as any to start working on the fitness. I’ve scheduled ten minutes aside to either walk on the treadmill or if anything just march in place, since we’re supposed to have thunderstorms and rain all day.

(After stretching, of course.)

It’s like Julia Child’s character said in Julie & Julia. “Be perfect. And if you’re not, don’t apologize. No excuses, no explanations.”

That should be my new mantra, especially since I’m trying to divorce myself from the idea I have to be perfect in order to have any value.

But that’s a topic for another day. Maybe even a video blog.

Since my weight has changed, I changed my goals in Sparkpeople to get a new eating plan. It takes my calories down by a smidge, but that’s okay. It’s doing what I can every day towards progress, and that’s worth that extra 100 calories I wasn’t even eating anyway.

Where my focus has to be is the exercise – not only to keep the momentum going but also to help heal my back. It’s hard to be Epic when you’re drugged and sleeping your days away.

Trust me. I know.

But I’m up early this morning and I have a busy day ahead of me of things I need to get done. Two blogs for Driving on the Sidewalk, two queries (and the research on where and who to query), cleaning the carpet in the bedroom, laundry, go grocery shopping and cook new, delicious vegan dishes… which today requires more research.

I have some tofu and no idea whatsoever to do with it.

And who knows? Maybe even a video blog to top it off.

Full day. And I’m ready for it! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Final weigh in for January

  1. Congrats! That’s so awesome!:)

    I’ll be blogging about my health today, too, as there’s an update and some things to be concerned about.

Leave a Reply

