Back to life, back to reality


Today I return to work and find out if I’m even going to have a job. Given that the company is facing probably a huge layoff, I wouldn’t be surprised if I get term’d beforehand for any minute reason. Granted I had medical notes that excused all my time off but I’ve come to distrust big corporations after being fired from two in the last few years.

Color me cynical.

If they want to get rid of you, they will.

I’m prepared either way. If it happens, then I’ll find something else. I have several lines in the water.

Not to say I won’t be impacted hugely if I get fired, of course I will. It’s going to set back my financial goals in a big way this year. But I can’t stress on it. If it happens, it happens. I’ll find a way to deal.

I always do.

I’ve been through worse, God knows.

So I’ll use my confidence that I’ve gotten through much worse times to combat any stress over what may or may not happen. That’s anxiety I don’t need. It either happens or it doesn’t – no amount of worrying I do in the meantime is going to change anything.

That’s the plus side of being an eternal optimist. There are too many opportunities for good things to happen to spend any real time worrying about the bad. Besides which, worrying about stuff only attracts the negative to you and I’ve had enough of the bad stuff in the last few years, thank you very much.

Plus I’m too much of a fighter to let something like this defeat me.

I have faith no matter what happens it’ll turn out for the best.

If not, then I guess I have more to learn from the experience.

That’s my pep talk for myself today, anyway.

Am I annoying anyone out there yet? haha

I should probably take a pill while I still several hours to go to work but that didn’t work out for me very well yesterday – and in fact it impeded the progress I wanted to make. When I finally woke up I felt so drugged I could barely speak… probably not a good idea if I’m going to go to work and stay on the phones all night.

I guess that’s the upside if this job doesn’t pan out. It can get very trying to listen to people whine and moan about something as menial as a cell phone. Makes me want to reach through the phone and smack em upside the head. There are people dying in the world and you want me to feel badly for you that you can’t take five minutes out of your day to help fix your own damn cell phone?

Sorry, buddy.

I’m also quite tired of all these people who want something extra for doing what they’re supposed to do. “Well I’ve been with [your company] for five years and I’ve always paid my bill on time and never had it cut off.”

Goody for you. That’s what you’re supposed to do, freakshow. I’m not going to reward you for doing what you agreed to do. Here’s what you got for paying your bill on time – cell phone service.

You would not believe how many people call up wanting to get free minutes. I’ve heard every sob story in the book. Some even call sobbing saying someone they know has been murdered… but when they find out they’re not eligible for free minutes how quickly their mood changes.

It’s all made me quite cynical.

And I’m not quite sure I like the new, cynical me.

So like I said… I’m prepared either way.

Financially – eh, it’ll hurt. I won’t lie. But like I said, I’ve got some feelers out there already to find something better suited to me, where my livelihood won’t rest on a bunch of young people who could go between a call center and McDonalds and not care.

Okay I rambled about that much more than I thought I would. I guess I really needed the pep talk. Back to taking my pill and getting through the day… no matter what it holds.

2 thoughts on “Back to life, back to reality

  1. Everything will work out the way it’s supposed to. That’s the pep talk I’ve been giving myself, too. And there’s nothing wrong with a little cynicism. haha

Leave a Reply

