I fell off the wagon…


Temporarily.

My darling, wonderful, thoughtful hubby didn’t realize that the Boca Mushroom Mozzerella burgers were not, in fact, vegan. He thought the cheese was, like the meat, a substitute.

I did not realize this till after I had a burger.

It’s a learning process. And since he’s new at the shopping/cooking etc, it stands to reason he wouldn’t know what’s what yet. He’ll learn. He’s already learned the trick with mushrooms, and even is a staunch label reader for new items to try.

This was the dinner he made me a couple of nights ago:

He’s the one that found me some “Eat Right” noodle bowls (seen in pic) which have fresh veggies in them and are like Ramen for royalty. You find them in the refrigerated section. It’s a quick meal with yummy fresh veggies like broccoli and sugar snap peas and carrots, that is around 250 calories per bowl.

That means that meal you see there, even though it’s a ton of food, was only like 400 calories with the potato slices and the marinated mushrooms.

It’s amazing how much you can eat when you’re eating well. That beats NutriSystem, Weight Watches and Lean Cuisine… and ANYTHING fast food related.

(And if you’re jonesing for Ramen, I highly recommend those noddles. Much better than the sodium overload of those package flavorings with the fresh crunchy veggies)

Now I did make it out of bed today and I was able to prepare a simple meal with “meat” crumbles and soy cheese – and am happy to report I no longer have to say goodbye to my favorite Tex Mex meals.

I had probably the best tacos I’ve ever had in my life – mostly because I never thought I’d get to eat them again. And I was able to have *four* for about 400 calories.

Basically I took the “meat” crumbles and put it in a skillet with onions and diced chilis, added the taco seasoning and put it on the calorie friendly corn tortillas with lettuce and tomato and “cheese” and voila! Happy Ginger time.

I’d have taken a pic but I was too busy wolfin’ em down. Maybe tomorrow, because I had a ton of the meat n stuff left over.

It’s kinda pricey for the substitute meat BUT I figure one recipe a week is totally doable as I incorporate it into my old recipes.

Next week.. enchiladas!

(I’m so sadly excited about this I can barely stand… or in my case sit.)

For those of you ready to fly to Texas because I got out of bed and cooked my own supper, I just want you to know that my son and my husband did not let me do anything else. It’s a compromise of sorts – I try one thing every day so I don’t get too stiff sitting in bed and fending off cabin fever, and then they will take care of everything else.

My oldest son Timothy has been keeping the house up, including the dreaded kitchen, and hubby will be doing the laundry, did the shopping and prepares all my other meals.

So I’m not going to do any bending/lifting/twisting. (Believe me, I have great incentive not to.)

So put away your duct tape… I’m being as prone as I can stand to be.

As for my back, if anyone from Hal’s Hot & Sxe Cam Show reads this blog, kindly remind me if you remember who was the massage therapist. Steven has pinpointed the problem of my recent back trouble by a patch of muscle laying over my shoulder blade. It doesn’t go side to side but up and down, and it’s so tense and hard it’s surely the source of my upper back problem.

Basically I can’t twist to either side (especially the left) without it seizing up into a big cramp, and once it does that I’m done for. I literally can’t move at that point, my back becomes stiff as a board.

Before it “went out”, there was a tight knot there, but now it’s just a big patch of tightness.

From the overcompensating for the pain, I have almost the identical problem in my lower back toward my right side going from my waist to my hip. Last night (another nail biter) I had to put one of those icy hot patches on that side to even stand the pain… and that was just laying in bed.

And of course my tailbone is still completely smarting, most likely from compressed nerves there.

I know, I know. I need to go to the doctor. I’ll figure something out.

But if anyone has any massage tips to help work out these muscle spasms in the meantime, I will owe you BIG time.

Oh, and because of all the time I’ve spent in the bed I’m not going to bother with a weigh in. I have to do one next week to get my February tally (but I don’t expect it to be anything even remotely near goal.) That’s kinda not my focus right now. I’m doing the eating thing, and that’s about all I can promise.

Right now the goal of taking care of my health means I gotta be inactive for a bit yet. We already know what my getting out and pushing myself has accomplished so far.

And speaking of eating thing, I got my “vegetarian starter kit” from ChooseVeg.com. I highly recommend that website if you’re looking for ways to begin your vegan lifestyle, it’s a wealth of information on how vegetarian living can help the animals, the environment and our health.

Granted, I started my vegan eating habits to get more healthy – but as I read through their materials on how food gets from the factory to our table, I was completely mortified at the cruelty endured by the animals that we, as a culture, consume. It’s something I think most of us turn a blind eye to because the reality is too gruesome to bear.

Or maybe that was just my reasoning for never paying attention before.

It just underscored the importance of what I’m doing – for a cause bigger than me and my own health.

So check it out. Lots of great recipes and tips.

12 thoughts on “I fell off the wagon…

  1. Yes, Ginger, you really do need to see the Dr., but there is much positive going on too. My compliments to Steven and the boys for tyin’ their kangaroo down sport!

    When I read your comments about veganism and animal cruelty I thought os !sa.11:6-9 –

    In that day the wolf and the lamb will live together; the leopard and the goat will be at peace. Calves and yearlings will be safe among lions, and a little child will lead them all. The cattle will graze among bears. Cubs and calves will lie down todether. And lions will eat grass as the livestock do. Babies will crawl safely among poisonous snakes. Yes, a little child will put its hand in a nest of deadly snakes and pull it out unharmed. Nothing will hurt or destroy in all my holy mountain. And as the waters fill the sea, so the earth will be filled with people who know the LORD. – NLT

    • I have a theory that we were never meant to consume animals. The idea of paradise (garden of eden) had no carnage. They didn’t start killing for food or sacrifice until after the fall.

      I may do a Bible study on that considering there are some people who think veganism is a new form of witchcraft.

  2. I fell off the wagon and down the road to the next town this week. I’ve soda and pepperoni rolls with cheese in them. Not good for me. I’ll check out the veggie kit and buy it when I can afford it. Also, I’m going to get Veganomicon because it is supposed to be a very comprehensive vegan cookbook.

    I keep telling myself I have the power of self-correction.

    • The veggie starter kit is free, as is the website access (which is much the same).

      I hope to get a cookbook at the very least next week, but we’ll see how it goes.

  3. I realized it was free after I went to the site. I watched those videos and they made me cry.:(

    It’s funny you mention the Garden of Eden because I was thinking about that today, too. We were originally supposed to be vegans.

    • I couldn’t bring myself to watch the videos. Just reading it was upsetting enough.

      But yeah I truly think that’s what we were meant to be. At the very least vegetarian.

      That may be why our bodies do not respond well to these animal products.

  4. Right, it wasn’t until after the first sin that man started eating meat.

    I think the reason I’m so bloated right now is because I’ve had cheese, meat, and soda this week. Yeah, I’m also hormonal, but it’s definitely not helping.

  5. I have noticed that my PMS has decidedly lessened thanks to ditching sugar and meat/dairy. I get a little more annoyed, have a little less patience, but I’m not experiencing the wild mood swings I used to.

Leave a Reply

