Treat it like a job.


There’s a school of thought that we should treat our aspirations like our job… be just as dedicated and single minded towards it as if we were getting paid to do it. Toward that end, I’ve decided to treat the writing in such a manner. There are the blogs of course, and my articles for Driving on the Sidewalk; these are the things that I am motivated by deadlines to keep producing on a daily or semi-daily basis. But I also need to invest time into Helium, where the rating stars and writing stars increase the money I make there on the stuff I post.

There’s also the books that need editing and the agents that need researching and the scripts that need writing – all of this is keeping me very busy doing what I love. I may not see much immediate return, but I have full faith treating this like my job will attract that job to me.

Oh yes. It’s gonna happen.

And starting March 1, I’m going to treat the physical fitness like a job too. I’m taking it easy for one more week, then I’m going to start building my body up – slowly to start by hopefully by the end of March I’ll be able to be regularly active.

And I’m posting both goals here to be accountable to them. The time for dreaming is done.

The time for action is now.

Leave a Reply

