Weigh in and other non scale victories.


Finally the downward process has begun again. I’m down five pounds since I got home thanks to eating properly. This puts me at 34.5 pounds lost since giving up sugar, and 26 pounds lost since (mostly) giving up meat and dairy. (Given my diet has taken a more pescatarian turn, I don’t feel right using the term “vegan” for it anymore.)

That’s also 26 pounds of 50 I pledged to lose by the end of June to raise money for my local food bank. I’d like it to be more but with how little I can actually exercise I can’t really complain.

And to be honest I can’t really use the exercise as an excuse either, because I did a whole lot more in California than I’ve done here even with my back issues. It’s just been easy to slip back into old patterns because now things don’t depend totally on me to get done. I haven’t been driving, and I’ve only been on a couple of walks since I’ve been home. That means truthfully I could do more, I just haven’t been.

Which needs to stop because the less I do the more problems I experience with my back… including a pretty bad strain that hit me since we’ve been home. This has me reaching or my least favorite pill in the world – Ultram – which throws my whole life off kilter thanks to the dizzy side effect.

I’m finally getting over what feels like another onset of bronchitis so I need to get off my cushy tushy and take it for a spin around the block.

I need to find my pedometer and dust it off, and put it to use. Walking has always been the most effective exercise for me, and the 10K steps a day was the key.

I have a flight in a couple of weeks and I’d like to lose enough to where I don’t need to use that seat belt extender.

Given that some of my clothes (particular my fatter clothes) are practically falling off of me right now, it should be a fairly realistic goal.

I’m finally in that phase of “Wow… I can fit into a smaller size!” and “Wow… I need to buy the smaller size!”

Which is very cool.

And I can now expand my diet a little bit as well. Hal Sparks stayed late after his Humpdays with Hal ustream broadcast yesterday and answered some questions about fitness and health that gave me a few more options when it comes to what I can eat.

Per Hal eggs are okay, and even yogurt and goat cheese if you have to have dairy. He said if you have to have meat, choose an animal that is smaller than you – like say a chicken or a fish over beef or, I dunno… maybe water buffalo.

He also recommends supplements, one in particular he mentioned was resveratrol. So time to stock up on the vitamins.

He reiterated the importance of a green drink a day, which…. I think I’m ready to attempt again. I don’t have the brand he drinks available here (nor did I find it where I looked in California) but I will promise to drink at least a little bit of it per day. Two ounces to start, maybe? :-/

What really struck a chord with me, however, was the low caloric intake recommendation. Even with eating properly, I tend to eat a lot – which has two benefits for someone of my size. One, we need more calories than smaller people to run the show. To lose no weight whatsoever I need to take in almost 2000 calories per day… and that’s with no exercise whatsoever. The more I do, the higher that number goes.

So say I want to walk every other day (which I do, to work up to 30 minutes extra per day), that puts my caloric needs in the area of 2400 calories per day. To lose two pounds a week, I need to shave 1000 off of that number, which is 1400 calories per day. The lovely folks at Sparkpeople have my goals set between 1200 and 1500 to lose 2.5 pounds per week. I’m tracking just a tad under that right now because I haven’t been logging my calories.

That starts over again today, too.

Any lower and my body will think it’s in starvation mode and hold onto the weight, which is the second part of that equation. If I eat too little, I won’t lose the weight either.

I know this because I’ve struggled with this forever.

Which is why I hate The Biggest Loser so much. They have these people they stick in a bubble who have to eat 1500 or so calories a day, but they exercise like it’s a full time job. That massive weight loss isn’t from lower calorie intake alone, because eventually your body gets used to eating smaller portions.

You can’t just eat less and eat less. The true trick is moving more.

But the nifty little drawback there is the more fat you lose and muscle you gain, you can actually see your weight stagnate even if you’re doing “everything right”.

In times prior, I’ve known all this information, have studied it, have read the research and lodged it all in the brain… but not seeing those numbers move like I want can be very frustrating.

But Hal’s advice does ring sound in this very important area: don’t eat just to eat. Get your nutritional needs met and then you can be done for the day.

Believe me, you eat a lot just by default when you do that.

So the idea then is not to worry about eating X amount of calories to lose weight. As easy as that sounds, it’s not just a matter of math.

I just have to make what I do eat work for my body, rather than allow my body to be controlled by food.

So that’s the lesson I took away from that conversation.

That and checking out resveratrol, to slow down the aging process. If all I’m doing is to make the second half of my life healthier than the first, then I want to look and feel as healthy (and youthful) as possible.

We keep encouraging Hal he either needs to write a book or do an entire show segment on health – because oddly enough for someone with such a focus on health and wellness there are so many of us who need that direction who are attracted to him.

But then again maybe that’s not that odd at all. They say when the student is ready, the teacher will appear.

And so he has. 😉

6 thoughts on “Weigh in and other non scale victories.

  1. Yes, the teacher has definitely appeared to this ready student.:)

    I’m so proud of you and all your progress in so many areas of your life. I think maybe now you’re starting to get that you’re awesome and capable of more than you realized.:)

    I’m doing Quick Weight Loss for free right now. My dad has lost 50 of the 70 lbs he wants to lose, and is healthier. He even “sounds” better. There are some kind of strange restrictions, but so far, it hasn’t been that hard or unhealthy.

    I like Hal’s statement about eating meat. I tried hard being vegan, and it just didn’t work for me. In fact, I gained weight because I was feeling so deprived. I think it’s because I don’t like many vegetables. I’m going to eat more fish in addition to chicken and turkey. I guess I’m a poultry kind of gal. haha

  2. Thanks Victoria 🙂 {{{Big hugs}}}

    I haven’t heard of the Quick Loss system, but I’m glad it’s working out for your dad. I’m usually against any temporary diet things as you know but if it works for you then go for it 🙂

    There’s a way to eat healthy no matter how you eat I think. Although I finally convinced Steven to eat like I eat one day a week. I told him it’d be Monday, and that as long as he could go vegetarian once a week it’d help his health so much.

    In fact studies have shown that Europeans have healthier diets because they incorporate that as one of their dietary staples.

    But he likes even less veggies than you do, so we’ll just see how it works out. LOL

  3. It’s kind of like Weight Watchers as far as maintenance goes once you finish the actual program. You can go weigh in and see them each week for a lifetime if you want. I can’t do any of that because I’m not paying for the program, and it’s expensive. My dad bought the 6 week maintenance program because the lifetime one was too expensive.

    One thing that’s cool is about QWL is that there’s very little cheese in it, and since you have other choices, you don’t have to eat it. I don’t know if they have a vegetarian program. And you can have carbs as long as they’re the good carbs and you don’t eat too much. Their main focus is not to eat too much of anything.

    I’m usually skeptical about diets, but this one seems okay so far. The only negative about it is that Rush Limbaugh did it, and he’s one of their main success stories. I don’t like the idea of having anything in common with him. Anyway, I’m feeling better and losing weight already. I just want to lose this weight, get healthy, and keep it off.

    Good luck to Steven! I hope he doesn’t starve on Mondays. haha

  4. You said “If I eat too little, I won’t lose the weight either.”

    That’s a great point; starving yourself is damaging also. Keep on hitting that middle ground you were talking about, and walk when you can. I find walking to be one of the best ways for folks to make progress for a number of health issues, including osteoporosis. Keep it up!

    Warm regards,

    Steve
    Energetic Healing

Leave a Reply

