Heart Healthy Oatmeal Applesauce Muffins


The perfect way to spend a Saturday morning – baking yummy, delicious baked goods for breakfast. When I was younger, that included those orange danishes that came in a tube can that were indeed yummy and delicious, but sadly lacking on any real nutritional benefit.

I found this recipe by googling some ingredients I already had on hand, and the base recipe I found showed it had a nutritional grade of A+ even with brown sugar, butter and eggs! Given a week or so of experimenting and I think I’ve got an even more healthful version to share – and it’s completely vegan.

The original recipe was light on spice, so I cranked that up. Nothing is worse than a bland bran muffin. I also traded in the brown sugar for agave nectar, but now there is new information that might not be a healthy alternative after all – so I reverted back to brown sugar (for now). Next time I bake the recipe I will likely use maple syrup instead.

Also in the original recipe was a topping that had butter and more sugar. I cut that completely out and simply added raisins into the mix.

I also added flaxseed for some additional health benefits.

So I’m not sure how that affects the nutritional content from the original, which was about 160 or so calories per muffin. I’m going to see if I can find any place on line that will calculate that stuff and start adding it to my recipes in the future.

In the meantime, here’s your recipe for Heart Healthy Oatmeal Applesauce Muffins.

You’re welcome. 😉

****Updated**** My favorite website in the world, Sparkpeople, has a recipe nutrition calculator. So here’s the breakdown… it’s even healthier my way!

2 thoughts on “Heart Healthy Oatmeal Applesauce Muffins

  1. Why isn’t agave nectar healthy? I don’t like it, but I was just curious why it’s no longer considered a healthy alternative. Maple syrup is yummy, though.

    This is one reason I’m skeptical about health/diet information. It all fluctuates so much.

    • Eh that’s the theory this week. Some doc on huffpo said it was worse than High Fructose Corn Syrup. Said while it was true that it doesn’t spike your blood sugar as much as regular sugar, it also affects your insulin production too.

      Back to the ol drawing board. But… all things in moderation I guess.

Leave a Reply

