Letting Go


I’m taking the day off to go through my closet and get rid of my fat clothes.

Granted, I’m still fat. But ladies get what I’m saying. You have your normal clothes, your fat clothes and the clothes you keep because you remain eternally optimistic that you will one day be able to fit into them again.

For me that consists of “not so fat clothes”, “acceptably fat clothes” and “fat clothes I pray I never wear again but I’m keeping… just in case.”

Steven continually kids me about the amount of clothes I do have. I’m not a clothes horse by any stretch. I buy new outfits maybe three, four times a year (generally in time for a vacation of some sort). But I have a ton of clothes that I have saved over the years that fit me anywhere from a size 20/22 to a size 32.

Not only is our ample walk-in closet bursting at the seams but I have seven full size tubs scattered in our bedroom.

I’m more of a packrat than a hoarder necessarily – for the most part my clutter is clean. But there’s a lot of it and I’ve kinda decided it’s time to let it go.

We’re moving to a smaller apartment in 8 months and by then I hope not to be anywhere near a size 32.

So I’m going to go out on faith and get rid of my “safety” clothes. As long as I have them I have an excuse to stay fat and get even fatter.

This includes my dresses and “work clothes” that I hold onto in case I end up getting another “office job”.

There is no office job. There is no plan B.

On Friday our local ministry to help the needy is holding their annual “Mission Thanksgiving” at the car dealership where my husband used to work. They do it every year and every year I always swear I’ll take stuff down there.

We’ve gone twice.

So like yesterday, I’m cementing the plan with a blog. I’m going to de-clutter my life and by doing so open myself up to an abundance I can’t see yet, but I know is out there waiting for me to be courageous enough to let go of the past and all my excuses.

You can’t go forward if you’re always looking back.

Leave a Reply

