Quiet, but Unstoppable.


Just a post to let you all know that despite the health problems I’ve had in recent months, particularly my ongoing, recurring and all-too-often acute back problem, progress is still being made. It may be incremental, but I’m perfectly okay with that. I see the effects of things for which I laid the foundation in nothing but pure faith, and that keeps me going.

As you may or may not know I’ve published a number of my books which are now available for your Kindle, Sony eBook reader, iPad, Nook, etc, as well as in print. Most notably you can find me on Amazon, Barnes & Noble and All Romance Ebooks/Omni Lit, although if you Google me you’ll find scads more links for my work. Things got off to a slow start, which was frustrating, but this month seems to have turned a major corner and for that I am both extremely excited and profoundly grateful.

But this has been a lot of work, and the load is increasing by the day with new ideas, new projects and new marketing ideas that keep me working on this part of my writing career a good portion of my week. I can hardly complain about that, nor would I.

The drawback is that my freelance career took a bit of a backseat and I wasn’t making as much immediate money while I set up everything for my books to take off. This threw our relocation plans to California into question a couple of times but about three months ago I just decided to do whatever need be done to make it happen. That’s how I’ve always lived my life, and how I will continue to do so (only this time with an eye on success.)

This means of my time the majority goes to the career. “Fun” writing has to take a number. This also means my social interaction on the web goes down a whole lot too, and if I have any friends out there feeling slighted I’m sorry I haven’t been able to be more interactive. But this comes first.

There were also immediate needs from a drama that arose at the beginning of the year, which took up a huge chunk of my time and couldn’t really be discussed for legal reasons (not my own.) So I’ve had to be quiet for a variety of reasons, or speak in code. Needless to say, that doesn’t bode well for a public blog.

The weight thing has also been put into a holding pattern. In March I think it was I went to a gym for the first time and it did not go well at all. In fact, it threw my back problems into overdrive and I’ve had frequent bouts of acute back spasms that have interfered greatly with my being active.

The traditional wisdom is that when your back is in that onset of acute symptoms (which in my case is paralyzing back spasms) you don’t overexert yourself. You rest for a day or two, employ heat or ice, and take anti-inflammatory medicine (and muscle relaxers if need be.) I still have to take care of a lot of stuff and can’t be *too* bedridden, since Steven is gone 12 hours a day and tasks need to be taken care of when he’s away. This makes these acute stages linger OR they come back more quickly than I’d like.

I’ve been trying to muscle through it all without complaining *too* much – but if someone asks me how I’m doing I am going to tell you the truth.

And the truth is, right now, I’m paying a huge price for getting some outside errands done yesterday. Just this past week the pain has been so intense that I’ve been waking up nauseated, which is never fun. Ultimately I will probably have to go to the doctor again, this time for more conclusive examinations like an MRI (BLECH) to see if the bone spurs are causing the problems.

I’m holding out because after this month I should have some insurance options open to me, and I don’t want to have to pay full price for an MRI. That would carve a huge chunk out of my moving budget.

So I’m muscling through and just gritting my teeth as I build the foundation for my new life in California.

The bad part is I’ve been resorting to food for comfort. I’m nowhere near where I’d like to be for the move that is coming up at breakneck speed.

But like you get through anything in life you handle what you can in the immediate… and that’s what I’ve been doing. How do you eat an elephant? One bite at a time.

So I bought tons of veggies to detox myself off of the Take Out Diet we’ve resorted to in the last couple of months thanks to my limited physical activity and Steven’s heavy workload. I think that will help me feel better, at least healthier, while I wait out the back thing.

The weight thing has to take a backseat to the money thing and the health thing. And all it really means is that when I get to LA I’m going to have to network whether I like the way I look or not.

Scary, scary stuff…. but perhaps really necessary to be *truly* unstoppable.

Until then I just take one step in front of the other.

As long as I’m still moving, whether it be a foot or an inch, I’m okay.

Leave a Reply

